United Nations of Skate

A month ago I wrote in the Facebook Group ”Skate NYC” that I was coming to New York and wanted to hang out and skate and that I was interested in trying out aggressive quad skating. A woman called Angela wrote ”if you come to Philadelphia, I’m your girl”. So I decided I wanted her as my girl and we started planning a little gettogether which she soon named United Nations of Skate since we were gonna be skaters from Puerto Rico, China and Sweden. After a whole lot of planning me and Irene (the whole Ilene thing was apparently a joke) finally hopped on the bus to Philly on Friday morning to hit some skate parks.

We started off with some quick sightseeing. ”This is an old builiding, and that is a big building” Angela told us before she took us to the Museum of Art with the famous Rocky stairs so I could run them. Sightseeing was over in maybe 30 minutes and then the skating began. We did three parks on the Friday. The coolest one was the FDR Skatepark, which I had never heard of before, but apparently is famous and is playable in one of the Tony Hawk video games.

Please keep in mind this is my first time ever in a ramp.

IMG_6868

FDR skatepark.

1553223_10152105812047185_2205045034869352184_o

FDR Skatepark. When I saw this photo of me I understood why we call a mullet a ”hockey haircut” in Swedish.

DSC_1627

Angela Lopez and her husband Yamil in The Cellar, a small indoor skate park. Angela is ofcourse representing GBGRD.

On the Saturday we were supposed to go to New York together to skate some parks, but it was raining so instead I got the chance to hang out with Angela and her family. She has five kids – the oldest is 19 and the youngest is 1,5 years old. Angela told me her life story and I feel that I want to write a book about her, but i’m not gonna tell it here. It’s her story.

Instead of skating in NYC I went to a party with my host Misfit Kitteh and her colleagues. But first I treated her to a mani pedi (as you do in New York). Such a weird and luxurious experience for a Swede to have that done, calf and neck massage was included. Feeling all pretty and pampered we went to a roof top party in Williamsburg with the Manhattan skyline as a backdrop. What a wonderful cliché.

Yesterday I met up with my first host in New York. My friend Lina Michal, who was in Europe when I was at her place. We went to Coney Island and it was everything that I wanted it to be. I’m not even gonna write about it, but just post some of the photos for you to see for yourself.

IMG_8628 kopia 2

IMG_8641 kopia

IMG_8660 kopia

IMG_8669 kopia

IMG_8692 kopia

Tonight I am leaving New York for Detroit. After many worries about how to get there I decided to take the Greyhound bus. It’s a 14 hours long bus ride and I’m sure it’ll be an interesting experience. I’ll sit close to the driver and pack everything that has a personal or monetary value in my skate bag and sit with it in my lap for the entire trip.

I haven’t been updating the blog as much as I would have liked to do. I’ve been super busy experiencing things. So if you feel that you need more from me you can always follow me on Instagram, or watch the photos from there on the left side of the blog. I’m gonna try to write more often though.

Kisses and hugs,

Vulvo Amazon

4 thoughts on “United Nations of Skate”

  1. Mumms för ögonen och själen!
    Jag är nyfiken på hur det ser ut där du bor, vad har du för utsikt och vad har du ätit för gott/äckligt? *intagram-önsning* Kanske lite från temat, men är såååå nyfiken!

    1. Din önskan är min lag! Ska genast börja instagramma mer. Jag har varit lite sparsam för jag vill inte verka skrytig. Jag är lite slarvig med fotandet också tyvärr. Ska genast bli bättre. Jag blir glad när du läser och kommenterar 🙂

  2. Not only United Nations of Skate, but also getting a new sort of efter family, Sisters of Skate. I feel warmth in my heart when reading about how your hosts embrace you. Biggmama i.e Jettemamma

    Skickat från min iPhone

Kommentera

